Irish law- and the bill to ban fracking

Share Button

Read below in combination with the bill (second stage, 27 october 2016) moved to a SELECTED COMMITTEE by Tony McLoughlin and the call from the Oireachtas for a public consultation in the JOINT COMMITTEE

bill moved to committee

Read below: the … bill was referred to the committee
decided to undertake a detailed scrutiny



Constitution and Powers

Article 15

1.    1° The National Parliament shall be called and known, and is in this Constitution generally referred to, as the Oireachtas.

2° The Oireachtas shall consist of the President and two Houses, viz.: a House of Representatives to be called Dáil Éireann and a Senate to be called Seanad Éireann.

3° The Houses of the Oireachtas shall sit in or near the City of Dublin or in such other place as they may from time to time determine.

2.    The sole and exclusive power of making laws for the State is hereby vested in the Oireachtas: no other legislative authority has power to make laws for the State.

Constitution of Ireland – Bunreacht na hÉireann

Cover of Irish Constitution

This text of the Constitution is a copy of the text enrolled on 27 May, 1999 pursuant to article 25.5.2° except that :

the Transitory Provisions (Articles 51-64) are omitted as required by their terms; the Irish text has been altered so as to make it conform to modern standardized Irish; the twentieth amendment, enacted subsequent to enrolment, is incorporated; the new Articles 2 and 3 and the new section 8 in article 29 are inserted pursuant to the provisions of the Nineteenth Amendment of the Constitution Act, 1998; the twenty-first, twenty-third, twenty-sixth, twenty-seventh, twenty-eighth, twenty-ninth, thirtieth, thirty-first, thirty-third and thirty- fourth amendments enacted subsequent to enrolment have now been incorporated. Amendments effected since the Constitution was enacted in 1937 are listed below.